Home› Independence 12 March 1992   Jun 17, 2019 |MBC TV New Channels Added TV News |New Radio Station Added called Music FM Music FM |Best FM |Bookmark|

» Home
» MBC News TV MBC 1 TV
» Stock Price Quotes
» Helicopter Tours
» Mauritius Map
» Newspapers
» MBC TV News LiveListen Live Radio
» MBC 1 MBC 1 TV
» Sell/Buy/Rent Property
» Hotels
» Beaches
» Photo Gallery
» Videos
» Weather Mauritius Weather Details
» Public Holidays 2019
» Sunrise Sunset Times
» Restaurants/Eateries
» Flying There
» Weddings
» Anthurium Flowers
» Economics
» Stamps
» The Dodo Bird
» Music
» Sponsor Us
» Contact us
» Useful Details
» Visitors Guide
» Places to Visit
» Archive
» Link to us

Independence 12 March 1992

The Dutch Originally colonized Mauritius in the 17th century, from 1715 Mauritius then went under French rule and until 1810 when Mauritius was taken over by the British. On 12th March 1968 it achieved independence within the Commonwealth with Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam as prime minister (leader of the MLP AND Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State (until 12 March 1992 when Mauritius became a Republic) represented by a Governor General. 12th March is known as National Day Mauritius has changed drastically from a sugar-producing island to a newly industrialised nation since independence.

See also National Anthem of Mauritius
National Flower of Mauritius

Copyright © justmauritius.net 2006-2019 All Rights Reserved.